MEDIA RELEASE: Election 2010: Thursday, 29th July 2010

MEDIA RELEASE: Election 2010: Thursday, 29th July 2010

Democrats field Senate candidates in all states and territories

As proof of the revival of the party, the Australian Democrats are fielding Senate candidates in all states and territories.

The party’s National President, Julia Melland, says that with the close of nominations today she is delighted to reveal this.

“So many commentators have dismissed us, but we are back and once again giving that choice to voters of a party with progressive centrist policies, rather than the simple right wing choices of Labor and Liberal of the left wing choice of the Greens. We believe the people of Australia deserve better than that.

“We are particularly pleased to be fielding a team of two in Tasmania when we were unable to field anyone in the 2007 election,” said Ms Melland.

The Senate line up is:


#1 Darren Churchill

#2 Anthony David

Northern Territory

Duncan Dean


#1 Fiona Clancy

#2 Jen Mitchell


#1 Paul Stevenson

#2 Jen Cluse

South Australia

#1 Jeanie Walker

#2 Andrew Castrique


#1 Paulene Hutton

#2 Tim Neal


#1 Roger Howe

#2 Rick Westgarth

Western Australia

#1 Paul Young

#2 Matthew Corica

Further comment:

Phone Julia Melland 0431 357 585

Phone Darren Churchill 0412 196 473

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: